Turning a Clean Sheet

Do you prefer writing on a keyboard/computer or by hand? Just a thought. I’ve heard of writers using all stuff, like Dictaphones and even having a secretary write out while the author dictates. Wondering if anyone does anything REALLY strange, or just what people do in general.

I write ideas and stuff in books by hand. Writing by hand is pleasing, because it’s more of a process and you feel like you’re shaping the words, not just rapping them out, each word looking the same as another. Using different impliments for writing gives a certain pleasure (scratchy pencils are a personal favourite). I once wrote part of a project in dip pen and India ink, though it was completely impractical as every sheet had to dry before I could compile them. My bedroom was covered in “no touch” surfaces. But I did it for the feel of scratchy writing, the tip of the pen making contact with the paper. It was like the ideas and content weren’t enough but the act of writing had to be right as well.

I do, however, normally use a computer. All blogging is (unavoidably) typed (though my handwriting is usual illegible, so this is a positive). The added advantage of a computer is obvious: editing, cropping, cutting, pasting, organising, filing. You can’t run out of ink and don’t have to sharpen your pencil.

Typing is tiring and samey. It takes away the “writing” part of writing and leaves you with the “typing” bit. It’s nice to turn it off and turn to a clean sheet (if you’ll excuse a pun).

2 Comments to “Turning a Clean Sheet”

  1. I have to write by hand first, I need to see my handwriting for some reason.
    After I write my stories by hand I then transcribe them to a word processor. I know it seems like a long, drawn out process and would be easier and less time-consuming just to type straight onto the PC but I need to follow this routine, otherwise it just doesn’t feel right… :)

    • Nah I’ve done that. The whole writing and typing thing is a bit like choosing ebooks of buying a hard copy. It’s interesting that you do that. If I write something proper by hand I tend to transcribe it. That’s for commenting :D

Leave a Reply

