First Liners

I enjoy thinking of first lines for a book. I am guilty of trying to create a book out of a single first liner. I like things like:

“It was an ordinary morning for Lucas. He washed his feet in the loo, brushed his teeth in the shower and pissed in the bath.”

or

“I killed Jon Smith and I have no regrets.”

or (one which I am slightly hesitant to write in a blog and is set in the Second World War, sorry for any offence taken)

“Go back to fucking hell or fucking Germany.”

I always find interesting openings difficult to think up when I’m writing something specific but I come across loads as I’m doing other things and not really thinking.

Anyone else got first liners they have used that they like? Or come across any particular good ones?

3 Comments to “First Liners”

  1. I don’t think you should feel guilty about trying to forge a story from just one sentence…I think many people do! Characters in novels after all, are not born of woman, but of metaphor. I’m interested to read some of your other posts! :)

  2. You are actually me…in a really weird way! You’re posts are really good :) keep it up please!

Leave a Reply

