Know What I’m Saying?

I once tried to decide what my “forte” was in writing. When you declare that you are a writer you get asked what you write, it would make sense to say what you like and what you’re (supposedly) good at.

I originally thought it was well constructed description. But description bores me, and general it slows down a story. There are too many cliches in description. (I do not consider cliches a complete enemy. Much original writing can come from identifying and changing it so that it is new.)Well done description can be something to behold, if it moves on with the narrative as well.I decided I was not so good at this..

Once finished with description, I moved onto the opposite; action. Describing action in its upmost detail to give across a blockbuster-like thriller. Films are not books. Action is not limited to shooting (I spent a lot of bullets and killed many characters before realising this).

I have settled, on dialogue. I may write a separate most on dialogue (because I like short posts and this is looking too long for me). Dialogue is immediate, it is action, it can convey ideas, thoughts, character, move on a narrative. I think it is brilliant, and may eleborate on that in future.

You may not agree with me, but we never got anywhere by agreeing.

What’s your forte?

2 Comments to “Know What I’m Saying?”

  1. I really like this post, it’s really true! I’ve been asked that question so many times and in all honesty, I go in and out of different styles. It’s nice to have a bit of variety. But when the enevitable question of your ‘forte’ comes up…well…makes it a little awkward to answer. thanks for posting, straight to the point and effective thought :)

    • thanks for saying. dunno if you read anything else I wrote but I don’t like long things to read so i don’t write them. every word counts! i haven’t abandoned description or action (speaking counts as action anyway) i just prefer the dialogue. dialogue makes a book. too much prose turns me off.

Leave a Reply

